hostemail.blogg.se

Wd my book essential 1tb reset
Wd my book essential 1tb reset








wd my book essential 1tb reset
  1. Wd my book essential 1tb reset how to#
  2. Wd my book essential 1tb reset mac os#
  3. Wd my book essential 1tb reset manual#
  4. Wd my book essential 1tb reset password#
  5. Wd my book essential 1tb reset Pc#

I compared the VCD of some locked/unlocked states and found only 448 bytes of one sector that change, as I showed in the previous post.

wd my book essential 1tb reset

Wd my book essential 1tb reset password#

OK DR, that is what I have discovered and mentioned in the previous post so every time you reset the password (by formatting) a new key is generated. Now you are working "arsy-versy", think more and widely. When you replaced those sector you are not just removed the password request, you have changed whole decrypting key.ĭon't work with pacient drive not to spoil something.ĭid you bought new same enclouser for this game? I noticed that that data are encrypted in 16 bytes blocks. I would try again but with a sector with locking information for which I know the password. I replaced that sector with another sector that I got after unlocking the drive, I got the drive unlocked but I cannot see my data. But at the same time the password to lock the drive is not used to encrypt the data so this means at least in theory it should be possible to reset that password at least to a known password value. My conclusion is that the USB controller encodes/encrypts all the data written to the drive so it is not possible to retrieve that data without bypassing the USB controller. When I tried to connect it via the USB enclosure again I noticed that when the drive prompts for the password the password hint does not exist anymore, so my guess is that the password section was overwritten. Using mhdd I could not see the disk is locked so I did a stupid thing that I locked it then unlocked it again. I tried to check whether the drive is locked or not, so I connected it directly via a SATA cable to the PC. I tried to get the drive out of the USB enclosure and it turned out the drive inside the enclosure is just a 1TB WD caviar green WD10EADS. For some reason I cannot unlock the drive, even though I am quite sure about the password I use but it says the password is invalid. I want to restore this disk for interchangeable use of common file ending files between PCs and Macs.I have a Mybook Essential Western Digital external hard drive.

Wd my book essential 1tb reset mac os#

Mac OS Extended (journaled), whatever that means. The greyed out area on the disk utility says my WD Passport is I'm afraid they may not be readily changeable to a format Ms-Dos (FAT), the interchangeable format I use to move common file ending files back and forth between PCs and Macs. I haven't bought one yet because I fear they're less versatile.

Wd my book essential 1tb reset Pc#

Their new ones are cheaper, but they come pre-formatted for either PC or Macbook. My essential got locked without my permission.

Wd my book essential 1tb reset how to#

I want to know how to recapture the original data. Guys, there are 2 kinds of people looking for an answer on this forum: (1) the guy who wants to erase the data locked in the WD passport essential (2) the person who wants to recapture the data on the drive and has no idea how the damn thing got locked in the first place. It's bricked if you forget the password unless WD's magic reset process is found.Īny help will be appreciated. It has an SATA label, but its PCB only has a USB port and unlabeled pins.įor those thinking about getting a passport: I don't know if it's been mentioned but there is a downside to the Passport's encryption. On the inside the drive carries the model number WD7500KMVV. I tried WD's Datalifegaurd to see if it could do anything, but it can't seem to find the drive. The various utilities won't let me do anything until I unlock the drive. Probably has to do with the encryption stuff. Disk manager says that the HD is write protected and apparently missing a partition table when I try to initialize the drive. So I'm receiving it in possibly an odd configuration where the HD is not immediately visible in Windows, but its various utilities on it's "virtual CD" is. My dad in his haste tried reformatting the drive. I've sent WD this question, but I doubt I'm going to get a useful response. I've taken the thing apart and have a feeling that it might relate to jumping some pins. So I'm here wondering if anyone figured out how to reset this damn thing. WD apparently doesn't want people doing it though because I can't find any information on this process anywhere, and by anywhere I mean Google.

Wd my book essential 1tb reset manual#

After scouring the internet for a way to recover the password, I learn that there is no way to recover the password or data on the drive, but the manual and other resources hint that there is a way to reset the drive and delete the data on it. He set a password, locked the thing and forgot the password. My dad has a WD Passport Essential with it's fancy schmancy encryption.










Wd my book essential 1tb reset